Films

Hidden Figures

Every little thing just wants to be loved. – The Secret Life of Bees

Have you ever seen a film SO good that you just need to stop whatever you are doing and write about it? Well, it happened to me and here I am!

My friend and I went to the cinema on Monday to see Hidden Figures, and that film changed my life. The story, and experience of these brave women is incredible.

Katherine Johnson, Mary Jackson and Dorothy Vaughn were the real heroes of the Friendship 7 mission and I am beyond ecstatic that it is a film based on a true story.

It was such a feel good film with so many issues that sadly are still relevant today, but we must never forget how far these females have come and all the obstacles they had to overcome to get to where they were. They worked so hard and that must always be remembered. If you take one thing away from this film, let it be the fact that no matter who you are and where you come from, you can do anything.

This film is not only moving and thought provoking but at the same time, it is shot beautifully. The angles are fresh, the camera movements are smooth and the color grade is gorgeous. The soundtrack really brought the whole thing together. I could not find one flaw with this film, it’s so good, it should have won the Oscar.

I loved this film so much that my friend immediately suggested we watch The Secret Life of Bees, and so we watched that one too. Personally, I have to admit that I liked Hidden Figures more, but it was still such a powerful and amazing film, it made me cry over and over.

Seriously, watch me run (and I never run) to the bookstore to buy both of these books, because since the films were so incredible, I can only imagine how good the books must be!

Also, can I get a loud cheer for strong black female character representation in the media, because no joke, it’s 2017 and it’s bloody time that we see more of it!

hidden_figures_film_headerv6_1_front_main_stage.0

Leave a Reply

